ScanWriter Pricing: What ScanWriter Software Costs, and a PDF to QBO Alternative
Personable does not publish a price for ScanWriter anywhere on its site. Every figure you can find online comes from a third party, and those third parties do not agree with each other. This page collects all of them, shows exactly where each one comes from, and explains what you are actually buying before you sit through a demo.
Quick answer
ScanWriter has no published price. Personable sells it through a demo request only. Public third-party figures range from $995 on Capterra, GetApp and Software Advice to $5,495 per license plus a $3,234 annual fee cited by DocuClipper, with an older industry article citing $4,995 plus $2,940 a year. Nobody agrees on whether the $995 is monthly, one time, or per user. Budget for a perpetual license, a recurring annual maintenance fee, and a separate charge for custom readers on statement layouts ScanWriter does not already handle.
Last updated September 2026. Every figure below was re-read from its source on 4 September 2026.
Try the PDF to QBO converter
Upload a PDF statement and see the transactions before you price anything else.
No demo call, no sales form, no credit card for your first statement.
Every public ScanWriter price claim, and who makes it
We checked seven places a buyer would look. Personable publishes nothing. The other six give five different answers, and three of them cannot even agree on whether the same $995 figure is monthly, one time, or per seat. Here is the raw picture, sources named, so you can decide what to trust.
| Source | Price stated | Billing model claimed | Free trial claimed | What that tells a buyer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personable, the vendor | None published | Demo request only | Not stated | The only authoritative source gives you nothing. Pricing is set on a sales call. |
| Capterra | $995 | Per user, per month | Yes, no free version | Read literally this is $11,940 per seat per year. Almost certainly a mislabeled field. |
| Software Advice | $995.00 | One-time purchase | Yes | Same number as Capterra, opposite billing model. One of the two is wrong. |
| GetApp | 995 | Not stated | Yes, and a free version | A demo-gated forensic tool with a free version is not plausible. Treat as stub data. |
| SaaSworthy | No figure | One-time license, quotation based | No | Profile is unclaimed and its pricing data is dated 2019. Directionally useful, not current. |
| DocuClipper, a competitor | $5,495 per license plus $3,234 a year | Perpetual license plus annual fee | Not stated | Published by a rival on its own comparison page, so read it with that in mind. But the shape matches the industry article below. |
| Industry article, March 2022 | $4,995 per license plus $2,940 a year | Perpetual license plus non-prorated annual fee | Not stated | Covers one workstation user and ten customized readers. The most specific figure anyone publishes. |
| PDFQBO, for reference | $49, $149 or $499 a month | Monthly or yearly subscription, published | Free tier, no card | You can see the number, start converting, and cancel without talking to anyone. |
All third-party figures above were read from their source pages on 4 September 2026. We have deliberately not averaged them into a single number, because averaging contradictory stub data would produce a figure nobody actually charges.
The three cost lines in a ScanWriter quote
However the headline number lands, ScanWriter is priced the way enterprise desktop software has always been priced. Ask about all three on the call, because only the first one usually gets quoted up front.
The license itself
A perpetual license tied to a workstation. The published third-party figures put this somewhere between $995 and $5,495. It buys the software plus a bundle of readers, which are the templates that teach ScanWriter how to parse a given bank's statement layout.
Annual maintenance
A recurring yearly fee covering updates, support and training, cited at $2,940 in 2022 and $3,234 by DocuClipper today. The 2022 source describes it as non-prorated, which means a mid-year start does not reduce it. This is the line that decides your three-year cost.
Custom readers
If one of your clients banks somewhere ScanWriter does not already have a reader for, that layout is built for you and charged for. Capterra reviewers mention customization fees for specialized readers. Ask how many readers your license includes and what each extra one costs.
ScanWriter and PDFQBO on the things that decide the bill
These are different products aimed at different jobs. ScanWriter is built for forensic accountants and investigators who need audit trails and case work. PDFQBO does one thing: it turns PDF bank and credit card statements into a QuickBooks QBO or IIF file. If that is your job, the cost gap matters.
| Decision point | ScanWriter | PDFQBO |
|---|---|---|
| Price you can see before contact | None. Demo request required. | Published: $49, $149, $499 a month, or yearly. |
| Recurring fee on top of the license | Yes, an annual maintenance fee cited at $2,940 to $3,234. | No. The subscription is the whole cost. |
| Charge for an unsupported bank layout | Yes, a custom reader is built and billed. | No. Layouts are read by model, not per-bank templates. |
| Platform | Windows desktop, installed per workstation. | Browser. Windows, Mac, Chromebook, nothing to install. |
| Native QuickBooks output | Posts entries directly into QuickBooks Desktop and Online, plus Xero and Reckon. Core export is Excel. | QBO file for Online, IIF for Desktop. You import it yourself. |
| Case management and audit trail | Yes, and it is the main reason to buy it. | No. It is a converter, not an investigation platform. |
| Try it without a sales call | No. A demo form gates access. | Yes. Upload a statement now. |
| Independent reviews | 4.4 out of 5 from 12 reviews on Capterra. | None yet. We are newer and we are not going to pretend otherwise. |
Which one your budget should go to
Buy ScanWriter if
- You do forensic or investigative accounting and the audit trail is the deliverable, not a nice extra.
- You need entries posted straight into QuickBooks Desktop across many transaction types, not just bank lines.
- Your work involves litigation support, fraud examination, or law enforcement casework where provenance is scrutinized.
- You are on Windows, you have a capital budget, and a four-figure license plus an annual fee is normal for your firm.
Buy PDFQBO if
- The job is converting PDF statements into QuickBooks and you do not need case management wrapped around it.
- You want to know the price before you spend forty minutes on a demo call.
- You work on a Mac or a Chromebook, or across several machines, so a per-workstation install is a problem.
- Your volume is a few dozen to a few hundred statements a month and a $3,000 annual maintenance fee would never pay for itself.
ScanWriter pricing questions
How much does ScanWriter cost?
ScanWriter has no published price. Personable sells it through a demo request. Third parties cite anywhere from $995 to $5,495 for a license, with a recurring annual maintenance fee of roughly $2,940 to $3,234 on top. Because the vendor confirms none of these, treat every figure as an estimate until you have a written quote.
Is ScanWriter a subscription or a one-time purchase?
It is sold as a perpetual license with a separate annual maintenance fee, which is why directory listings disagree. Software Advice records it as a one-time purchase, Capterra as a per-user monthly cost, and SaaSworthy as a quotation-based one-time license. The license plus annual fee model is the one two independent sources describe in detail.
What is the ScanWriter Excel annual maintenance fee?
Published sources put the annual maintenance fee at $2,940 as of a March 2022 industry article and $3,234 in DocuClipper's current comparison. It is described as non-prorated and it covers unlimited use of common readers, training, support and software updates. It renews yearly for as long as you keep using the software.
Does ScanWriter have a free trial?
The directories disagree. Capterra and Software Advice both record a free trial, GetApp records a free trial and a free version, and SaaSworthy records neither. Personable's own site offers a demo request rather than a self-serve trial, so in practice you get a guided walkthrough with a salesperson instead of a download.
Why does ScanWriter pricing vary so much between sites?
Because the vendor publishes nothing, so directories fill the field from old submissions and never revisit them. SaaSworthy's profile is unclaimed with 2019 pricing data. Capterra and Software Advice carry the same $995 number with opposite billing periods attached. The four-figure license quotes come from sources describing an actual quote rather than a directory field.
What does ScanWriter do?
ScanWriter is data entry automation for financial investigation. It reads bank statements, credit card statements, checks and invoices, converts them to structured Excel, and posts entries into QuickBooks Desktop, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Reckon across 30 or more transaction types. Its differentiators are the audit trail, visualizations and case management that forensic accountants need.
Is ScanWriter worth the price?
If you bill forensic or litigation-support work, yes, because the audit trail and case management are the product and there are few substitutes. If you are a bookkeeper who needs statements in QuickBooks, a four-figure license plus a three-thousand-dollar annual fee buys capability you will never invoice for. At that point a converter costing $49 a month does the job you actually have.
Is there a cheaper ScanWriter alternative for QuickBooks?
Yes, if your requirement is statements into QuickBooks rather than investigation. PDFQBO converts PDF bank and credit card statements to QBO and IIF files in the browser, with published pricing from $49 a month and a free tier to test your own bank first. The full ScanWriter alternative comparison covers where ScanWriter still wins.
See the price, then see the output
Before you book a demo you cannot price, upload one of your own PDF statements here. You will know within a minute whether the transactions come out clean and whether the QBO file imports into QuickBooks.
Related pricing and comparisons
ScanWriter alternative
Feature by feature against a browser-based PDF to QBO converter.
BankScan alternative
The other demo-gated forensic tool, and why it cannot output a QuickBooks file.
Best PDF to QBO converter
Seven tools compared on price, platform and QuickBooks output.
ProperSoft pricing
A vendor that does publish its numbers, and what they are.
2qbo Convert Pro pricing
MoneyThumb's one-time desktop license cost and its OCR annual fee.
Convert PDF bank statement to QuickBooks
The main converter for any US bank statement PDF.